Thursday, February 25, 2021

Travis Tritt, Ronnie Milsap, Willie Nelson & Tony Joe White All Have New Projects On The Horizon

After a relatively slow start with new album announcements to start the year, this week certainly revved up with new album announcements from Travis Tritt, Ronnie Milsap, Willie Nelson and Tony Joe White. 

Artist: Travis Tritt
Album: Set In Stone
Label: Big Noise
Release date: May 7, 2021

Multi-Platinum selling and award-winning artist, Travis Tritt, will release a new album, Set In Stone, on May 7 and a new single, “Smoke In A Bar,” on March 5. 

Released through Big Noise Label Group and produced by Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, The Highwomen, Sturgill Simson), the new album features 11 new songs, 8 of which were co-written by Tritt. Set In Stone marks Tritt’s first original full-length studio album in over a decade.

On Set in Stone, the Grammy winner "delivers the quintessential Travis Tritt album with a touch of Americana and Roots. He pays homage to all sides of his musical personality along with the trademarks of his originality.  Opening with the rowdy “Stand Your Ground” and mixing powerful love songs like “Leave This World” with searing country rockers like the first single “Ghost Town Nation,” the new album is described by Tritt as “getting back to a no-frills classic outlaw-country sound.”"

Artist: Willie Nelson
Album: Texas Willie
Label: Sunset Blvd Records
Release date: April 9, 2021

This new project contains 20 Tracks not previously available on CD or streaming. The breadth and scope of Willie Nelson’s career is staggering. He first established himself as part of a new generation of progressive country songwriters in the early ‘60s. Here are the obscure and rarely heard demo recordings he made prior to signing to Liberty and before RCA. All of these recordings are both musically and historically significant. Includes "Man With The Blues," "Misery," "Undo The Right," "One Step Beyond," "Any Old Arms Won't Do," "Blame It On The Times," "The End Of Understanding," "Slow Down Old World," "A New Way To Die," "Home Motel," "Right From Wrong," "Slow Down Old World," "Happiness Lives Next Door," "I Feel Sorry For Him," "Where My House Lives," and more.

Artist: Ronnie Milsap
Album: A Better Word For Love
Label: Black River Entertainment
Release date: April 30, 2021

One of the preeminent songwriters and crossover artists of the 1970's and 1980's, Country Music Hall of Famer Ronnie Milsap has a brand new album forthcoming at the end of April on the Black River Entertainment label called A Better Word for Love.  It's his first album since The Duets released back in January of 2019. It includes a duet with another Hall of Famer, Mr. Vince Gill as well as a live recording of his song "Civil War."  

Artist: Tony Joe White
Album: Smoke From The Chimney
Label: Easy Eye  Sound
Release date: May 7, 2021

On May 7, Dan Auerbach’s label, Easy Eye Sound, will release the new Tony Joe White album, Smoke From The Chimney. This album is a collection of new songs that have been lovingly created from a collection of discovered Tony Joe White demos. (Tony Joe White died in 2018.) Selected by Tony Joe White’s son, Jody White, and put into the hands of Dan Auerbach to properly record them with a setting of musicians have generated 9 finished songs.

Smoke From The Chimney will be released on CD, DD, and in two separate color editions of vinyl LP (collectible orange or standard black). Tony Joe White is also remembered as the writer of the classic “Rainy Night In Georgia” tune made popular by Brook Benton.

No comments:

Post a Comment