Sunday, August 19, 2018

Live Music Video Performance From Chris Stapleton - Aretha Franklin's "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man"

In the final song of his Southern California concert earlier this week, Chris Stapleton dedicated this performance of Aretha Franklin's "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man" to the legendary Queen of Soul herself.

Saturday, August 18, 2018

Volunteer Jam XX: A Tribute To Charlie Daniels To Feature Sara Evans, Justin Moore, Chris Janson, Travis Tritt, Lee Brice, Alabama, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Many More

Album: Volunteer Jam XX: A Tribute To Charlie Daniels (Live)
Label: Blackbird Productions
Release date: October 12, 2018

Since 1974, Volunteer Jam has brought together some of music’s greatest performers to raise money for a special cause. Now, 43 years later, friends, fans, and an extraordinary lineup of musicians came together for a very special night honoring music legend Charlie Daniels — Volunteer Jam XX held on Wednesday, March 7th, 2018.

Charlie Daniels has collaborated with some of music’s most influential artists – from Elvis Presley to Bob Dylan – and with The Charlie Daniels Band has created such memorable hits as “Long Haired Country Boy,” “The South’s Gonna Do It Again,” “In America,” “The Legend of Wooley Swamp” and of course, the signature “The Devil Went Down to Georgia,” which won a GRAMMY® for Best Country Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group. Daniels is also a tireless supporter of the men and women who serve the United States military.

“Charlie has had an enormous impact on American culture through his dedication to supporting our troops, founding the unique southern sound that we know and love, and creating the unforgettable Volunteer Jam legacy,” says Keith Wortman, CEO of Blackbird Presents. “I am honored to be producing this year’s Jam alongside Charlie’s longtime manager, David Corlew.”

“It’s hard to believe that it’s been 43 years since the CDB and some of our friends got together at War Memorial Auditorium for what was supposed to be a live recording session, a one-time happening that took on a life of its own and was to become known worldwide as The Volunteer Jam. I am extremely honored and excited to have this year’s Jam documented by Blackbird Presents. Gonna be a great night at the Volunteer Jam!”
The show raised money for The Journey Home Project, a non-profit Daniels co-founded to support veterans of the U.S. armed forces.

1. Trudy (Live)  by  Blackberry Smoke
2. Brand New Star (Live) by Oak Ridge Boys
3. Sweet Louisiana (Live) by Brent Cobb
4. Evangeline (Live) by Sara Evans
5. Simple Man (Live) by Justin Moore
6. (What This World Needs Is) A Few More Rednecks (Live) by Chris Janson
7. Texas (Live) by The Steep Canyon Rangers
8. My Town (Live) by  Eddie Montgomery
9. The Legend Of Wooley Swamp (Live) by Lee Brice
10. Blue Sky (Live) by Devon Allman & Duane Betts & Chuck Leavell
11. Midnight Rider (Live) by Devon Allman & Duane Betts & Chuck Leavell
12. Sweet Home Alabama (Live) by  Lynyrd Skynyrd
13. Modern Day Bonnie & Clyde (Live) by Travis Tritt
14. It's A Great Day To Be Alive (Live) by Travis Tritt
15. Drinkin My Baby Goodbye (Live) by Chris Young
16. We Had It All One Time (Live) by Ricky Skaggs
17. La Grange (Live) by Billy F Gibbons
18. The South's Gonna Do It Again (Live) by Alabama
19. Mountain Music (Live) by Alabama
20. Tennessee Fiddlin' Man (Live) by Charlie Daniels & The Charlie Daniels Band
21. The Devil Went Down To Georgia (Live) by Charlie Daniels & The Charlie Daniels Band
22. One Way Out (Live) by Steep Canyon Rangers & Devon Allman & Blackberry Smoke & Oak Ridge Boys & Charlie Daniels & The Charlie Daniels Band & Alabama & Duane Betts & Billy F Gibbons 

Sunday, July 29, 2018

Michael Martin Murphey To Release Austinology: Alleys of Austin in October

Artist: Michael Martin Murphey
Album: Austinology: Alleys of Austin
Label: Soundly Music
Release date: October 5, 2018

Fifty years after Murphey helped pioneer the Austin Music Scene (along with Jerry Jeff Walker, Gary P. Nunn and more) , his latest offering is a look at the seminal period of Austin’s music history that set the stage for the “Outlaw” movement with Nelson and Waylon Jennings, among others, and the live music scene that is still thriving there.

“Murphey was a key player in the Austin, TX phenomenon,” wrote noted journalist Craig Havighurst for WMOT — The String. “He was a regular at the Armadillo World Headquarters, the iconic venue at the heart of the live scene, where a diverse audience heard a diverse array of roots music, from hard country to traditional blues. Murphey, along with Willie Nelson, Jerry Jeff Walker and others forged a country-rock hybrid that became the foundation for the progressive folk music field we now call Americana.”

For Austinology, Murphey chose songs — including some by the likes of Guy Clark, Townes Van Zandt and Jerry Jeff Walker — that were important to the late 1960s and 1970s when he lived in Austin and created the “Cosmic Cowboy” era.

Murphey is joined on the project by several artists who were integral to that era as well as those influenced by the work they created.

The songs are given a fresh reading by Murphey and his special guests, including Willie Nelson (on “Alleys of Austin” and “Cosmic Cowboy”), Steve Earle (on “Geronimo’s Cadillac”), Lyle Lovett (on “Alleys of Austin,” “Cosmic Cowboy” and “Drunken Lady of the Morning”), Kelly Willis and Bruce Robison (on “Little Bird”), Jerry Jeff Walker (on “Cosmic Cowboy”), Amy Grant (on “Wildfire”), Randy Rogers (“Backslider’s Wine”), The Last Bandoleros (on Guy Clark’s “LA Freeway”) and more.

Murphey, who plays and sounds better than ever, also enlisted some of the finest players in the world, including guitarist Kenny Greenberg (Nelson, Bob Seger, Etta James), dobroist Rob Ickes (Earl Scruggs, Alison Krauss, Vince Gill), keyboardist Tim Akers (Dolly Parton, Bruce Hornsby, Jimmy Webb) and more. The album is co-produced with Christopher Harris (CeCe Winans, Amy Grant).