Sunday, October 27, 2013

Outlaw Music Hall of Fame Unveils Its First Class Of Inductees

The first inductees into the new Outlaw Music Hall of Fame were announced yesterday in conjunction with the 1st annual Outlaws and Icons Charity Ride and Concert held in Altamont, Tennessee. Founded in August of 2013 as a grassroots effort, The Outlaw Music Hall of Fame is dedicated to those musicians and songwriters whose work best exemplifies the qualities of the Outlaw country movement that first began in the 1970s. 17 inductees will go in on the inaugural class under two different categories: Pioneers/Innovators (Pre-1970), and Highwaymen (1970-1990). The new museum also announced a third category called the Guardian Award. This award isn't a Hall of Fame induction, but a one-year honor that identifies the artist or group's work, commitment to their music and that they honor the music and traditions that came before them. This third award will be fan-voted in coming years. The initial inductees are:
Pioneers/Innovators Pre-1970

• Hank Williams Sr.
• Loretta Lynn
• The Carter Family
• Bobby Bare
• Chris Gantry

Highwaymen (1970-1990)

• Willie Nelson
• Waylon Jennings
• David Allan Coe
• Kris Kristofferson
• Merle Haggard
• Johnny Cash
• Johnny Paycheck
• Sammi Smith
• Steve Young
• Jessi Coulter
• Hank Williams Jr.
• Billy Joe Shaver

Guardian Award

• Dallas Moore
• Wayne Mills
• Hank Williams III
• Jamey Johnson
• Whitey Morgan

The Hall of Fame will be dedicated to those artists, both musicians and songwriters, whose work best exemplifies the qualities of the Outlaw movement that first began in the 1970s and has gained renewed momentum as an alternative to the current Nashville pop country scene.  In doing so it will place the spotlight on music firmly attached to the roots of country.  Moreover, the Hall of Fame will educate the public about Outlaw country, memorialize founders of the genre—such as Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, and Jessi Colter—recognize current Outlaw artists, and provide a platform for them and for the independent record labels who currently have little if any voice in the industry. The facility encompasses more than 5,000 square feet and under the direction of architect Thomas Bartoo will feature a state-of-the-art layout, including interactive displays.  There will also be a studio to allow for live broadcasts to be streamed over the Internet.

Located right on the town square in Lynchburg, the Outlaw Music Hall of Fame will sponsor a concert series each April to November to showcase independent roots country artists. Along with the Hall of Fame, there will be established the Outlaw Music Association.  It will bring together independent artists, songwriters, and record executives to promote roots country.  It will also recognize accomplishments by each of these.


  1. big fan of all the Guardian award winners.