Wednesday, September 16, 2015

New Johnny Cash Live Album Longing For Old Virginia To See Release In November

Artist: Johnny Cash
Album: Longing for Old Virginia
Label: All Access
Release date: Nov. 13, 2015

Johnny Cash made the most-famous live recording in album history with his Live at Folsom Prison album and now 12 years after his passing, a new live album is seeing its release in November. Recorded in Wheeling, West Virginia, these 1976 recordings are from a performance on the Jamboree USA Radio Concert series

From the press release:
"The mid-1970s were a generally fallow time commercially for Johnny Cash. The hits had dried up (with the exception of 1974's 'One Piece at a Time'), his TV show had gone off-air and he was criticised for his friendship with the disgraced President Richard Nixon and for making commercials for the likes of Amoco and STP - at a time when oil corporations were seen as the enemies of the people. But the country audiences kept the faith and his 1975 autobiography Man in Black sold over a million copies. These recordings suggest that the old faithful had it right all along and Johnny Cash, far from having lost any of the old magic, was as vibrant and potent in this era as he ever was.

With a little help from members of the legendary Carter Family - not least Johnny's wife and life partner June - he storms through a set of both oldies and more recent tunes to rapturous applause from a clearly delighted audience. Things remained fairly low profile for Johnny Cash during the 1980s and with the exception of the tours and records he made with Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson as The Highwaymen, his records were barely promoted by Columbia - he would later describe himself during this period as 'invisible' in his second volume of auto-biography. Cash's fortunes did change for the better in 1993 when Rick Rubin's American Recordings offered him a contract and under Rubin's supervision Johnny attracted a new audience not normally associated with country music. For the remainder of Johnny Cash's life he was an iconic figure whose body of work was reassessed and attracted music fans of all genres."

Track listing:

  1. Help Me (With Anita Carter)
  2. Jesus Hold My Hand (With Jan Howard)
  3. Wabash Cannonball/worried Man Blues (With The Carter Family)
  4. Ring Of Fire
  5. Folsom Prison Blues
  6. Pickin' Time
  7. Big River
  8. There You Go
  9. Sunday Morning Coming Down
  10. One Piece At A Time
  11. Give My Love To Rose
  12. A Boy Named Sue
  13. Ragged Old Flag
  14. Comedy Act (With Aunt Polly Carter)
  15. Yodel Song (With Aunt Polly Carter)
  16. Jackson (With June Carter Cash)
  17. I Still Miss Someone
  18. Hey Porter
  19. Wreck Of The Old 97
  20. Casey Jones
  21. Orange Blossom Special
  22. I Walk The Line

No comments:

Post a Comment