Tuesday, October 27, 2015

New Roy Orbison 13-Piece Vinyl Box Set To Come Out In December

Artist: Roy Orbison
Album: The MGM Years - 1965-1973
Release date: Dec. 4, 2015

In 1965 Roy Orbison was riding high following the success of recent smash hits highlighted by his iconic “Oh, Pretty Woman.” Lured by a million dollar contract that included a film deal his label Monument couldn’t offer, Roy left Monument and signed with MGM Records.

The MGM deal contained an almost frenetic recording and release commitment, requiring Roy to commence recording three full albums, plus multiple singles for each album, every single year. Roy delivered with both vigor and quality, with his output sometimes exceeding 70 recordings per year. This MGM Years box set is a summation of that marvelous work—13 full-length albums including the long sought-after The Fastest Guitar Alive soundtrack (Roy starred in the film) and a new collection of B-Sides & singles that have never before appeared on a full-length Roy Orbison album.

All 13 albums were transferred from the original multi-track tapes at famed Blackbird Studio in Nashville, Tennessee, and then mixed by GRAMMY -winning engineer Chuck Turner at the Johnny Cash Cabin, with help from Roy’s son, Alex Orbison. They were then remastered by longtime Roy Orbison friend and GRAMMY -winning engineer Richard Dodd. In order to make sure modern technology remained true to Roy’s original intent, the curators frequently compared their work to the original vinyl and its inherent warm sound.

No comments:

Post a Comment