Monday, January 18, 2016

12 Years After It's Recorded, Jessica Andrews Finally Releases Ain't That Life

Artist: Jessica Andrews
Album: Ain't That Life
Label: Jessica Andrews Music
Release date: Jan. 15, 2016

Most country fans only know the radio story of Jessica Andrews. At age 15 in mid-1999, she made her debut on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks charts with the single "I Will Be There for You", from her debut album Heart Shaped World, released in 1999 on DreamWorks Records Nashville.

Andrews had her biggest chart success in 2001 with the song "Who I Am", a No. 1 country hit and the title track to her second studio album, which was certified gold in the United States.  They recognize her from her three released albums and her 11 charted hits.

What they don't know is that there was a fourth album that was recorded and permanently shelved. Until now.

In late 2004, Andrews charted a duet with Bret Michaels of the rock band Poison, entitled "All I Ever Needed" for his solo album Freedom of Sound. Shortly afterward, Andrews began work on her fourth studio album, tentatively titled Ain't That Life. Its lead-off single, "The Marrying Kind", failed to chart, while "Summer Girl", the second single, peaked at No. 46 in mid-2005. DreamWorks' recording division was dissolved shortly afterward and Andrews would go through similar trials and tribulations with her next record deal with Carolwood/Lyric Street Records.

Flash-forward 12 years and the masters from that fateful album and have released it this past week.

Ain't That Life track listing:

1. Ain't That Life
2. Ain't That Something
3. Bad Girl Blues
4. Didn't You Know How Much I Loved You
5. Forever To Go
6. I Need A Man
7. I'm Going Back
8. The Marrying Kind
9. Me
10. Poison's in the Sugar
11. Sing This City Home
12. Straight to the Bone
13. Summer Girl
14. Walking Out That Door
15. When We Get There
16. Who I Was
17. I Won't Hold You Down (with Marcel) Bonus Track


  1. That's my girl. I love me some Jessica Andrews. Great singer, great freind.

  2. Because of this, I won't give up hope on the Carolwood album