Sunday, February 7, 2016

Nickel Creek's Sean Watkins Readies New Solo Album For Release In March

Artist: Sean Watkins (of Nickel Creek)
Album: What To Fear
Artist: Thirty Tigers
Release date: March 18, 2016

Singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Sean Watkins has long been known for his work as one-third of the Grammy Award-winning trio Nickel Creek and, more recently, for helming the itinerant and genre-hopping ensemble Watkins Family Hour with his sister Sara. However, in the last year he has taken on the role of solo artist. On March 18, Sean will release his new album What To Fear via Thirty Tigers, a follow-up to 2014's All I Do Is Lie, which had been his first solo record in nearly a decade.

"Ever since I was a kid, I always thought it was so funny when some news anchor would say something like 'Are the shoes you're wearing giving you cancer? Stay tuned for the answer right after this!' and then an ad comes on which they get paid for. It's a pretty simple and genius plan," said Watkins. "Where we get our information from is very important. Fear can keep us safe, but it can also cause us to make harsh reactionary decisions that we regret later."

From the press release:
"Watkins deftly juggles the observational and the autobiographical, convincingly taking on the personalities of others - a stalker, a preacher, a cynical newscaster - and then juxtaposing them with a voice that is clearly his own. Watkins' singing unites disparate narrative threads; he's disarmingly honest and sympathetic, no matter whom the character he is channeling might be. Similarly, he has managed to combine the work of his acoustic collaborators - the gifted young Northern Californian trio Bee Eaters - with the robust bass and drums combo of Matt Chamberlain and Mike Elizondo."
What To Fear includes guest-star turns from Sara as well as pianist Benmont Tench (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) and bassist Sebastian Steinberg (Soul Coughing).
Track List:
01) What To Fear
02) Last Time For Everything
03) I Am What You Want
04) Keep Your Promises II
05) Everything
06) Where You Were Living
07) Too Little Too Late
08) Local Honey
09) Tribulations
10) Back On My Feet

No comments:

Post a Comment