Sunday, November 13, 2016

Valerie June To Release The Order of Time In January

Artist: Valerie June
Album: The Order of Time
Label: Concord Music Group
Release date: January 27, 2017

You may know Valerie June as the siren in red who accompanied Eric Church at his stunning performance of "Like Jesus Does" at the 48th Annual ACM Awards in 2013. I'd encourage you to get to know better with her next release.

The Americana artist will release her follow-up to 2013’s breakout LP, Pushin’ Against a Stone on January 27th, 2017 (Concord Records). The now-Memphis-bred Brooklyn-born songwriter "weaves electric blues, African rhythms, cosmic atmospherics and delicate soul into an inventive and wholly original rumination on love, family, struggle and the passing of time."

Produced by Matt Marinelli, The Order of Time includes twelve original songs all written by June and features appearances from June’s family, her father, Emerson Hockett and brothers, Patrick and Jason Hockett.

June has developed what The Independent’s Andy Gill describes as “the most strikingly individual delivery I’ve heard in ages.” Percolating somewhere between Dolly Parton and Billie Holiday, June’s is a stop-you-dead-in-your-tracks voice, the kind that grips your imagination and paints her Southern portraits in vivid detail.

Many of those portraits are drawn from Tennessee, where June grew up between the small towns of Humboldt and Jackson. She moved to Memphis after finishing high school and considered attending art school, but ultimately settled on singing in a band. The clash of creative egos proved to be more draining than inspiring, though, and she quickly made the leap to solo artist.

The Order of Time track listing:

1. Long Lonely Road
2  Love You Once Made
3  Shake Down
4  If And
5  Man Done Wrong
6  The Front Door
7  Astral Plane
8  Just In Time
9  With You
10 Slip Slide On By
11 Two Hearts
12 Got Soul 

No comments:

Post a Comment