Saturday, February 3, 2018

Jasmine Records To Release Johnny Cash Change of Address Compilation With Two Tracks Previously Unavailable On Disc

Artist: Johnny Cash
Album: Change of Address - The Singles As & Bs 1958-1962
Label: Jasmine Records
Release date: March 2, 2018

This unique compilation presents the As and B-sides of Johnny Cash's first sixteen singles for Columbia Records, after joining the label from Sun, during the Summer of 1958. Much of this material finds Cash in a transitional phase, evolving from the sparse 'boom-chicka-boom' simplicity of his earlier Sun hits to the fuller, richer arrangements and the carefully-crafted 'story' songs which began to feature on his concept albums during the 1960s. Eighteen of these thirty-two sides made the US Country and/or Pop charts. This set features a number of Cash's career signature songs, e.g. 'All Over Again', 'Don't Take Your Guns To Town', 'I Still Miss Someone', 'I Got Stripes', 'Five Feet High And Rising', 'Forty Shades Of Green', 'Tennessee Flat Top Box', 'The Big Battle', 'Busted' and 'Send A Picture Of Mother'. Also included are a handful of hard-to-find rarities, most notably the 45rpm edits of 'Loading Coal' and 'Goin' To Memphis', which are unavailable elsewhere on CD.

Track Listing

1. All Over Again
2. What Do I Care
3. Don't Take Your Guns To Town
4. I Still Miss Someone
5. Frankie's Man, Johnny
6. You Dreamer You
7. I Got Stripes
8. Five Feet High And Rising
9. Little Drummer Boy
10. I'll Remember You
11. Seasons Of My Heart
12. Smiling Bill McCall
13. Second Honeymoon
14. Honky Tonk Girl
15. Loading Coal (Single Edit)
16. Goin' To Memphis (Single Edit)
17. Girl In Saskatoon
18. Locomotive Man
19. The Rebel-Johnny Yuma
20. Forty Shades Of Green
21. Tennessee Flat Top Box
22. Tall Men
23. The Big Battle
24. When I've Learned
25. In The Jailhouse Now
26. A Little At A Time
27. Bonanza!
28. Pick A Bale Of Cotton
29. (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
30. Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)?
31. Busted
32. Send A Picture Of Mother

No comments:

Post a Comment