Thursday, January 20, 2011

New Albums Comes Into Focus From Alison Krauss & Union Station and Lionel Richie

Two highly anticipated projects were revealed a bit more to the public yesterday from Alison Krauss and Union Station as well as from Lionel Richie.

Rounder Records has set an April 12 release date for the latest from Alison Krauss and Union Station titled Paper Airplane. This will be the first new music from Krauss since her highly acclaimed 2007 collaboration with Robert Plant Raising Sand. It will be her first album with longtime band Union Station since 2004’s Lonely Runs Both Ways.

The Plant/Krauss project was honored with six Grammys, adding to her career tally of 26, the most for any female in history.

Tracklisting for the new album is as follows:
1. Paper Airplane
2. Dustbowl Children
3. Lie Awake
4. Lay My Burden Down
5. My Love Follows You Where You Go
6. Dimming Of The Day
7. On The Outside Looking In
8. Miles To Go
9. Sinking Stone
10. Bonita and Bill Butler
11. Opening Farewell

CMT is also reporting that producer Tony Brown says that he's almost completed recording Lionel Richie's album of duets with country artists. So far done are "Stuck on You" (with Darius Rucker), "Sail On" (Tim McGraw), "Lady" (Kenny Rogers), "Easy" (Willie Nelson), "Deep River Woman" (Little Big Town), "You Are" (Blake Shelton) and "All Night Long" (Jimmy Buffett and the Coral Reefer Band). Still to do are recordings with Jennifer Nettles of Sugarland and the Zac Brown Band. "We're having a blast," Brown said. "Lionel is the coolest fun guy, and he's blown away by the musicians here." Brown estimates the album will be out this summer.

No comments:

Post a Comment