Monday, April 18, 2016

Shenandoah Releases First Album In A Decade This Week

Artist: Shenandoah
Album: Good News Travels Fast
Label: Daywind Roots
Release Date: April 29th

90's hit making group Shenandoah, known for the #1 Hit Singles "The Church on Cumberland Road", "Sunday in the South", "Two Dozen Roses", "Next to You, Next to Me", "If Bubba Can Dance (I Can Too)", and many more hits, is set to release their first Gospel Album, the first album since Journeys released in 2006 and is also the first album since "Shenandoah Christmas" in 1996 to feature the original lead singer "Marty Raybon"

Daywind Roots, a new division of Daywind Records, will launch the album. The title track is acting as the first single and was written by Bud McGuire and Jerry Salley.

Rascal Flatts member Jay DeMarcus is producing the project.

"It's been the thrill of a lifetime," DeMarcus said. "As someone who grew up in Ohio, it would be like tossing a football with Ken Anderson or Boomer Esiason. You never dream of it coming true. I would have Marty Raybon sing lines from some of my favorite Shenandoah songs. I'm sure I wore them out, but I followed them around asking, 'Can you sing this?' I was definitely like a kid in a candy store. It brought back so many memories of driving in my car to college listening to their Greatest Hits album and never once dreaming I would meet them and call them my friends, but also help them to discover some new music."
"I think that when you look back over their catalog at their history of songs, they were one of those bands that just got their hands on wonderful tunes -- songs that resonated years beyond when they were released," he said. 
"I think the strength of that material was what inspired us the most to keep the bar very high for the material that we picked for our own records," DeMarcus continued. "Marty has one of those distinctive voices. From the minute that he opened his mouth on the radio, you knew who was singing that song. While I wouldn't say that his and Gary's voices are kin to each other, he shares that characteristic of you knowing it's him when the record starts. I think those were some of the ways that we found a kindred spirit with them. We identified with some of the key components of the foundation of their group."
"With a band like Shenandoah, you don't want to take things and deconstruct them to a point where you don’t recognize them. You want to put a fresh spin and a different take on it, and I think we’ve done that. There’s just enough of the old familiar sound mixed with a new sound and direction that it’s fresh again.” DeMarcus said with a laugh, adding that the band's longtime fans can rest easy. “I didn’t make them a new Sam Hunt and I didn’t turn them into Rascal Flatts. It's definitely Shenandoah."

1. A Cross Between A Sinner And A Saint
2. Didn't It Rain
3. Good News Travels Fast
4. Hallelujah For The Cross
5. I Know He Knows
6. Seconds Count (Feat. Karen Peck)
7. Stained Glass
8. Sunday Morning Sermon
9. Just Wait, Be Still
10. Like Every Days A Sunday
11. If I'm Right


1 comment:

  1. Jay Demarcus had nothing to do with this project